Drivers With No Front Plates Are Never Cited
I believe automated enforcement is unfair because it only targets honest drivers. Section 5200(a) of the California Vehicle Code requires that every car have a front license plate. Honest drivers have front plates and are fully subject to automated enforcement and the highest red light fine in the United States at $346. These honest drivers are also subject to a conviction point on their DMV record and a hefty insurance increase for a least three years.
Drivers who illegally remove their front plate are not subject to automated enforcement at all, since their vehicle cannot be identified. At worst, they might get $10 fix-it ticket. Is this fair? A dishonest person can easily avoid automated enforcement entirely by removing their front plate. A dishonest driver can also freely run red lights at camera-enforced intersections, secure in the knowledge that traffic cops have been reassigned elsewhere.
Drivers Who Block Their Face Are Never Cited
A driver who obscures his face while transiting an intersection is also not subject to automated enforcement. Without a clear photograph of the driver, no citation can be issued The California Vehicle Code (CVC Section 210) requires a clear photograph of a vehicle’s license plate and the driver of the vehicle for an automated enforcement citation to be issued.
Again, a dishonest driver can totally avoid automated enforcement by placing his hand over his face or by flipping down his visor while running a red light at an intersection with automated enforcement. Truly dangerous driver can more easily run lights under these circumstances, knowing that they are immune to enforcement.
Drivers Who Perjure Themselves Are Usually Not Convicted
I never advise anyone to deny receiving his or her automated citation in the mail. No where on my web site is anyone encouraged to perjure themselves in any way. However, it is true that a person who lies and denies that they were the photographed driver typically has his citation dismissed. In this way those willing to perjure themselves are off the hook, and those honest souls who admit to being the driver pay a $346 fine and receive a point on their driving record. Is fair? Does improve traffic safety?
see more http://www.ticketassassin.com/autohonest.html